web analytics

Purling Hiss announce new record, Water On Mars (opening for The War On Drugs on NYE)

After three albums and an EP, Purling Hiss are ready to release an album recorded outside of the “fuzzy confines” of Mike Polizze’s home-recording setup. The Philly-based rockers, led by Polizze (of Birds of Maya), will release Water On Mars on March 19th. Here’s an excerpt from the press release about the new album:

It’s a tumble of hits and ragers, sewing together nine new Purling Hiss celebration laments out of their usual patches of distortion, singing melodies and unexpected production hoohah – but this time the unexpected part is how the guitars gleam so precisely as they pile upon each other, how they work alongside of the rhythm section rather than avalanching it. And how the songs embody a variety of Hiss-teric moods, from the gutbusting bellow of “Lolita” and “Face Down” through the acoustic flatline of “Dead Again,” the aromatic slide guitars and piano within “She Calms Me Down,” the anthemish surge of “Rat Race” and the wailing march-jam, “Water On Mars.”

Purling Hiss will open for The War On Drugs at Johnny Brenda’s on New Year’s Eve. Tickets are $18 and available here. Check out the new album’s tracklist and “Lolita” (as recorded for Shaking Through) below.

Water On Mars tracklist:
1. Lolita
2. Mercury Retrograde
3. Rat Race
4. Dead Again
5. She Calms Me Down
6. Face Down
7. The Harrowing Wind
8. Water On Mars
9. Mary Bumblebee

Home » News » Purling Hiss announce new record, Water On Mars (opening for The War On Drugs on NYE)
Copyright © 2015 · The Swollen Fox · All Rights Reserved · Posts · Comments
Powered by WordPress