web analytics

Recap: Kopecky Family Band @ Milkboy (w/MyNameIsJohnMichael)

On a rainy Friday night, Kopecky Family Band and MyNameIsJohnMichael rolled into Philly to play at Milkboy in Center City. The latter kicked the show off at 9:30 with a rousing set of their NOLA-flavored rock. The five-piece band is led by singer-songwriter and guitarist John Michael Rouchell, and fills out with a drummer, bassist and two brass players. Each man their instrument with above-average skill and an enthusiasm that spreads through the crowd almost instantly.

The momentum from the fantastic opening set by John Michael was dampened by The National Rifle’s middle set. It wasn’t so much the quality of the music as it was the sound of the music. The band’s style wasn’t a great fit for the bill, and if anything should have been the first of the three acts, not the second. The local band had support from the crowd, which kept things more interesting, but they were simply a strange segue between John Michael and Kopecky Family Band.

KFB finally hit the stage around 11:30 and played for about an hour on a crowded and sweaty stage. The set was pretty similar to their recent show at Johnny Brenda’s (April 24, co-headline with The Lumineers), with the very notable exception that they played “The Disaster” on Friday night. The 7th, final and title track of their 2010 EP is a beautiful track that showcases the band’s versatility and the strength of their lead vocalists, Gabe and Kelsey.

In addition to that beautiful performance, the band also played some new songs that will be on their debut full-length later this year. There’s not much to say about the new songs that I haven’t already said, so I’ll just tell you to keep both eyes on this band as the release (date still not set) of their debut album comes closer. The new songs are fantastic, and I have a feeling the best is yet to come.

Check out some photos from the show (including MNIJM’s setlist) and Kopecky Family Band’s setlist below. You can also view the photo set here.

Kopecky Family Band @ Milkboy – Philadelphia, PA – Friday, June 1, 2012
01 New song
02 My Way (new song)
03 Birds
04 Animal
05 Howlin’ at the Moon
06 Heartbeat (new song)
07 The Disaster
08 Wandering Eyes (new song)
09 God and Me
10 Angry Eyes

Tags: , , ,
Home » Concert Recaps » Recap: Kopecky Family Band @ Milkboy (w/MyNameIsJohnMichael)
Copyright © 2015 · The Swollen Fox · All Rights Reserved · Posts · Comments
Powered by WordPress